Not working? Install DevalVR, QT or Flash  polski English RSS feedFollow us on TwitterFollow me on Pinterest
Search in panoramas:
»
Warsaw Old Town - corner of Celna and Brzozowa streets. 
Click to view this panorama in new fullscreen window
Warsaw Old Town - corner of Celna and Brzozowa streets.
• Added to the gallery on File size: 2.9 MBViews: 4495 (#1502)
The Copper-Roof Palace (Pałac pod Blachą): an 18th-century palace adjacent to the Royal Castle in Warsaw, Poland. 
Click to view this panorama in new fullscreen window
The Copper-Roof Palace (Pałac pod Blachą): an 18th-century palace adjacent to the Royal Castle in Warsaw, Poland.

Wikipedia: "The palace takes its unusual name (which is less precisely phrased in the Polish original) from its copper roof - a rarity in the first half of the 18th century. Originally a patrician house of Wawrzyniec Reffus, built 1651-1656. After 1657 destruction by the army of George II Rákóczi, it was completely remodeled in 1698-1701 for Jerzy Dominik Lubomirski. Lubomirski expanded the palace by building a southern wing, perpendicular to the rest of structure, and also expanded the western elevation. Shortly after its construction the palace became known as Palais Martin, after Lubomirski's grandson. In 1720 the palace was rebuilt with an addition of a second northern wing. Additionally the interior was decorated with rococo paintings. After 1777 the palace passed into ownership of Poland's last king, Stanislaw August Poniatowski, who hired the architect Domenico Merlini to once again redesign the inside rooms of the palace and join the library wing of the Royal Castle to it. The king then made a present of the redecorated place to his nephew Prince Józef Poniatowski. The younger Poniatowski was a successful commander in the 1794 Kościuszko Uprising, and later one of Napoleon Bonaparte's marshals. Under his ownership the palace became a center of Warsaw's high class social scene. When Warsaw became part of Kingdom of Prussia after the Third Partition of Poland the buildings became the headquarters for the Prussian Ministry of War.
The Copper-Roof Palace was burned in 1944 and reconstructed, based on paintings of Bernardo Bellotto, between 1948-1949".
• Added to the gallery on File size: 3.6 MBViews: 6069 (#726)
The Copper-Roof Palace in WarsawThe Copper-Roof Palace in Warsaw seen from St. Anne's church tower
The popular Manfaktura shopping centre, opened in Łódź in 2006. 
Click to view this panorama in new fullscreen window
The popular Manfaktura shopping centre, opened in Łódź in 2006.

"The new astonishing place has been built in Lodz - Manufaktura. Old postindustrial buildings, so typical of this city, unattractive until now, came back to life again...
The area at the intersection of Zachodnia and Ogrodowa streets was the heart of the city once. Izrael Poznanski established one of the biggest textile factories of XIX century Europe. He built a beautiful residence right beside his property. This factory campus, a true architectonical treasure, has become a city within the city. Poznanski supplied energy from his own power plant and brought to life his own railroad station and fire department. There were workers' houses and school nearby the factory complex. In the XX century, Poznanski's empire went through through many changes to finally cease the production in 1997.
Fortunately, the factory has not been left alone for a long time. In 1999 the Apsys Groupe company began to refurbish the whole area. The buildings, not protected by the history preservation laws, have been demolished so that we can now admire the original structure of Poznanski's empire. Apart from bringing the factory to its early shape, the Apsys Groupe adopted it to meet new purposes.
Thus, we have achieved our primary goal - mixing the old and the new. We have created the new look that combines old industrial architecture with the modern design - the symbol of the factory's new destiny." (Self-promotional text from www.manufaktura.com).
• Added to the gallery on File size: 2.7 MBViews: 8374 (#296)
The popular Manufaktura shopping centre in Łódź, opened in 2006 in abandoned textile factory buildings. 
Click to view this panorama in new fullscreen window
The popular Manufaktura shopping centre in Łódź, opened in 2006 in abandoned textile factory buildings.
• Added to the gallery on File size: 3.3 MBViews: 7277 (#428)
The second floor corridor in the four-star deluxe design hotel that was opened in the restored industrial building in June 2009. 
Click to view this panorama in new fullscreen window
The second floor corridor in the four-star deluxe design hotel that was opened in the restored industrial building in June 2009.
• Added to the gallery on File size: 2.4 MBViews: 6939 (#495)
Andel's Hotel ŁódźAndel's Hotel Łódź
Page
1 2
Locate all panoramas
Contact
Interested?
Mail me at
panoramy@zbooy.pl
Last comment
Thursday, Nov 2, 2017: On the walls of Palácio da Pena in Sintra, Portugal
Palácio da Pena
Czy to już jest koniec? :( (widz)
© Szymon "Zbooy" Madej
2005–2017